Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards 2019


The 18th annual presentation of the Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards has taken place on Sunday, 15 September 2019 during the Opening Ceremony of the 80th Skål International World Congress held onboard the Royal Caribbean 'Symphony of the Seas'. 

The Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards were launched in 2002 to spotlight best practices in terms of sustainable and responsible Tourism around the world, enhance the visibility and grant recognition to entities from the Tourism Industry.

A total of 56 entries from 25 countries from all over the world have this year competed.

Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards 2019


Tomás de Azcárate y Bang, President of Responsible Tourism Institute; Mario Hardy, CEO of PATA; and Samantha Bray, Managing Director of Center for Responsible Travel (CREST), were the three prominent and distinguished independent judges who have evaluated the entries received according to leadership criteria in sustainability that encompass tangible, measurable benefits to the environment, enhance business, and the society and communities in which they operate.

The winners of the 2019 Skål International Sustainable Tourism Awards are:

Community and Government
Projects Category

Periyar Tiger Reserve Periyar Tiger Reserve


Countryside and Wildlife

Nilva Enoturismo Nilva Enoturismo


Educational Programmes
and Media Category

Colombia ExóticaColombia Exótica


Major Tourist
Attractions Category

The South African Animal Sanctuary AllianceThe South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance


Marine and Coastal

See TurtlesSee Turtles


Rural Accommodation

Anurak Community LodgeAnurak Community Lodge


Tour Operators - Travel Agents

Himalayan EcotourismHimalayan Ecotourism


Urban Accommodation

Hotel AlimaraHotel Alimara


Skål Biosphere Award 2019

Skål International has established a partnership with Biosphere Tourism and the Responsible Tourism Institute to present a Skål Biosphere Award to one of the entries selected based on the pillars of sustainability of the Responsible Tourism Institute. This award was conferred to Himalayan Ecotourism (India).

Skål Biosphere Award 2019 Himalayan Ecotourism
Himalayan Ecotourism epresentative receives the award from Daniela Otero, CEO of Skål International.

Want to apply for next edition?

The guidelines will soon be updated for the 2020 edition and the details will shortly be published on the web. Keep updated!